UTB Vol 291 (July 2020) – ANGERME Rikako Sasaki Interview

It has been 5 years since your last photobook! This photobook is a commemoration of you graduating from Senior High School and your last as a teenager. 

Rikako: 5 years has passed since my first photobook, and out of all the sights I’ve seen, relationships I’ve had with people, various things I’ve felt so far, I was really looking forward to seeing differences in not only my appearances, but how I’ve changed as a person. So I was really excited lol

You’ve been doing photo shoots continuously for three years since you finished your third year of Junior High School. I was surprised that for your last photo shoot as a third year high school student, you looked like you were a different person since you were so mature!

Rikako: After doing a lot of modelling work, I’ve come to think about what poses I should do, or how I should stand and things like that. But as photobooks are a rather precious place for me to show my natural and true self, I was able to finish the shoot with the help of the staff who has been taking care of me since a long time ago!

It was shot at Okinawa, which is the same location as where your first photobook was shot at. 

Rikako: It really is a place that I love, after all. The sea over there is really pretty, the food are all so delicious, and the people there are all really warm and friendly. It’s amazing how the repertoire of choices of souvenirs are endless. I remember having so much fun shopping at the cafe that we stopped by for the photo shoot, and taking a warm bath after going into the sea or pool. I was also really happy when the cameraman called me “Rika-chan” during the photo shoot. 

I think that you were able to see yourself as a junior high school student again after a long time, what did you think about it?

Rikako: I think I was really young back then (lol)~ When I look at my expressions back then, it feels like I could afford not thinking of anything at all. And I guess it’s during such times, when people are able to grow up. My expressions currently really resemble the expressions I made when I first started my 2nd year of high school. Although, at that time, I was unhappy and dissatisfied with my performance and etc. It used to be really difficult for me to look back at those expressions that I made. 

It’s true that the current Rikako is a different Rikako from when you were a junior high school student that was carefree and always smiling. 

Rikako: There has been so many things that happened during the past three years, and I feel that I’ve changed significantly too. Not only has my appearances changed, but the clothes that I wear, the makeup I use and even my hairstyle has changed. I was also able to discover and find my true personality and what I really want. Seeing those around me value their uniqueness has really motivated me to work hard to become such a strong person. On a performance level, I’ve changed in the sense that I’ve come to want to pursue both things that I can and cannot do. As there have been many encounters and partings (graduations) in the group over the past 3 years, this has made me think about life more, and has really shaped me into the person I am today. For me, I don’t think there are any goals in this world, but rather, I’ve only just begun. In that sense, I think that the past three years has been a wonderful and fruitful time that has really changed and shaped me into the person I am today.

That ‘small Rikako-chan” has completely…

Rikako: A person’s ways of thinking will change as their surroundings change. Although there are still new obstacles in front of me now, but I am looking forward to thinking that when I am able to overcome them, I will be able to grow differently than before.

With that in mind, while ‘Rikako Sasaki’ is growing, this photobook which contains the 2nd chapter of her life has become a really important piece of work.

Rikako: It took a lot of time to shoot this photobook, which is packed with various aspects of me. The staff that took good care of me, and searched for something that would look good on me each and every time, I really could feel their love for me. Additionally, I would like to respond to the love given to me by all of the fans who have been supporting me all this time, with this photobook. I want people who look at my photobook, to be able to feel my growth, while looking and liking the different versions of me. I will continue to convey my love, with a view to becoming someone who has the strength to change and become who I really am.

Leave a comment